PACT Spry Menu Pages
There are 4 kinds of teeth:

The 4 front teeth are the central and lateral incisors (2 of each on top and 2 of each on the bottom). Next to the incisors are the long and strong canines, or cuspids. Next to these are the 2 premolars (8 total), sometimes called the bicuspids. The last 3 teeth (12 total) are the molars. They are numbered first (6 year), second (12 year), or third (wisdom teeth) molars, depending on their location. The molars have pits and fissures that can harbor cariogenic bacteria and are commonly the site of dental caries.

In addition to naming the teeth, dentists give the deciduous (primary) teeth letters for identification, whereas permanent teeth are assigned numbers. In children, for example, the tooth farthest back on the upper (maxillary) right would be "A" and the last tooth on the lower (mandibular) right would be "T". Similarly, in the permanent teeth, tooth number 1 is the tooth farthest back on the right side of the mouth in the upper (maxillary) jaw and tooth number 32 is farthest back on the bottom (mandibular) right side of the mouth.

For more information, refer to the images in the Chapter 1 Photo Gallery.
Incisors, canines, premolars, and molars are the
4 types of teeth.
The front teeth are called the central and lateral incisors.
Dentists use letters to identify the primary teeth and numbers to identify the permanent teeth.
The primary dentition is comprised of 20 teeth, with the permanent dentition having 32 total teeth.
Molars have pits and fissures that harbor cariogenic bacteria, making them common sites
for caries.

View the Chapter 1 Photo Gallery.