Curriculum Home Medical Knowledge Patient Care System Based Practice Practice Based Learning Interpersonal Communication Skills

Breastfeeding Residency Curriculum

Curriculum Developers

Breastfeeding Promotion in Physicians'™ Office Practices (BPPOP III) was a 4-year, national, grant-funded program, coordinated by the American Academy of Pediatrics in partnership with the Health Resources and Services Administration'™s Maternal and Child Health Bureau. (One of the program initiatives of BPPOP III is residency education and curriculum development. A multi-specialty team of experts in graduate medical education and breastfeeding developed this curriculum. The curriculum was pilot-tested at 14 residency programs across the country before 2008.)

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the American Association of Medical Colleges funded a portion of the Breastfeeding Residency Curriculum Pilot Study through the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and the Cooper Health Systems.

The following institutions participated in the pilot study:
  • Bellevue Hospital - New York University School of Medicine
  • Duke University School of Medicine
  • Forum Health Center
  • Harbor - University of California Los Angeles
  • Jacobi Medical Center
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Medical College of Georgia
  • Medical University of South Carolina
  • MetroHealth Medical Center
  • Saint Louis University School of Medicine
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center - Amarillo
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center -
    El PasoUniversity of Minnesota
  • White Memorial Medical Center


The following people served as faculty during the pilot-study:
  • Anne Eglash, MD
  • Lori Feldman-Winter, MD
  • Susan Landers, MD
  • Joan Meek, MD
  • Jane Morton, MD
  • Audrey Naylor, MD
  • Tony Ogburn, MD


The following people participated in the creation of the curriculum contents:
  • Lori Feldman-Winter, MD
  • Susan Bostwick, MD
  • Susan Brunsell, MD
  • Eve Espey, MD
  • Lourdes Forster, MD
  • Libby Hineman, MD
  • Fred McCurdy, MD
  • Joan Meek, MD
  • Jane Morton, MD
  • Tony Ogburn, MD
  • Mary Ann O'Hara, MD
  • Janine Rethy, MD
  • DeShonta Springs, MD
  • Wendy Slusser, MD
  • Kinga Szucs, MD
  • Michal Young, MD
AAP Staff
  • Lauren Barone, MPH
  • Rebecca Ramsey
Web Site Development
  • Captus Communications, LLC.
Privacy Statement | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Support Center | Home
American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Blvd., Elk Grove Village, IL, 60007, 847-434-4000