Meaningful Use Overview


On Friday, October 16, 2015, the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) released the Final Rule for Stage 3 Meaningful Use and Modifications to Stage 2 in 2015-2017. The stages of meaningful use seek to move from building a foundation for data capturing and sharing to the use of this data to improve health outcomes. 

The new rule changes the 2015 reporting period to a 90-day period aligned with the calendar year. It also removes reporting requirements for measures that were identified as redundant, duplicative, or topped. In addition, this final rule establishes that the requirements for Stage 3 are optional for partipants in 2017, and required for all participants in 2018. The final rule continues to emphasize submission of clinical quality measure data and aligns reporting. It also transitions the Meaningful Use program to a single stage.

AAP HIT leadership and staff are reviewing the Final Rule and developing a series of resources to help guide pediatricians in complying with the requirements of Meaningful Use.


CMS and ONC Propose New Meaningful Use Timeline

In December 2013, CMS announced a new proposed meaningful use timeline. The proposed timeline extends Stage 2 through 2016. Stage 3 will begin in 2017 for those providers who have completed at least two years in Stage 2. It does not delay the start of Stage 2 of meaningful use, or affect the current reporting periods and deadlines for 2014 participation.

The proposed timeline allows more time to review Stage 2 data in order to develop informed Stage 3 criteria that will best improve patient outcomes. To find out more about the timeline, read the blog by Rob Tagalicod and Dr. Jacob Reider, Progress on Adoption of Electronic Health Records.


General Resources

What is Meaningful Use?


Meaningful Use Attestation Calculator

Eligibility for the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs


2014 CMS and ONC Certified EHR Technology (CEHRT) Flexibility Rule Frequently Asked Questions


Meaningful Use Stage 2 Resources

Overview of Stage 2 Meaningful Use

Meaningful Use Stage 2: Implications for Pediatricians

Stage 2 Tip Sheet


Comparisons of Stage 1 v Stage 2 of Meaningful Use

Medicaid Expansion Frequently Asked Questions


Clinical Quality Measures