Byron Oberst Award


About Byron Oberst

The following materials about Byron Oberst were collected by 2008 recipient, Dr Kevin Johnson:
  1. Letter from October 8, 2008
  2. CV
  3. Computer Activities

About the award

The Byron Oberst Award will be presented to a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics (FAAP) who has made a significant contribution to the field in one or more of the following areas:

The award will be presented during the Council on Clinical Information Technology education program at the annual AAP National Conference and Exhibition. The winner will receive an honorarium and reimbursement of travel expenses to attend the program. The winner may also be asked to give a brief lecture during the program. Notification of the award will be published in the onsite NCE paper and in AAP News.

History of Recipients

2012: Alan Zuckerman, MD, FAAP
2011: No Award Given
2010: No Award Given
2009: Stephen M. Downs, MD, FAAP
2008: Kevin B. Johnson, MD, MS, FAAP
2007: David M. N. Paperny, MD, FSAM, FAAP
2006: Richard Shiffman, MD, FAAP
2005: S. Andrew Spooner, MD, MS, FAAP
2004: Stuart T. Weinberg, MD, FAAP
2000: William Zurhellen, MD, FAAP
1994: Donald E. Lighter, MD, MBA, FAAP
1992: M. William Schwartz, MD, FAAP
1991: James V. Lustig, MD, FAAP
1990: Olle Jane Z. Sahler, MD, FAAP
1989: Vincent A. Fulginiti, MD, FAAP


Nominations process

Eligible Candidates: Members of the AAP Council on Clinical Information Technology

To be considered for the 2013 awards, nominations and supporting materials must be received by March 1, 2013.

If you would like to nominate yourself or a colleague, please:

  1. Complete the 2013 Nomination Survey. You will be asked for some descriptive information, a brief (no more than 250 words) paragraph outlining why you feel this person is deserving of the Oberst award, and the nominees current CV and any other supporting materials.

If you are unable to insert the CV and supporting materials into the survey, please forward it to Sarah Gwynne at  by March 1, 2013.

Your nomination will not be considered complete until the CV and any other supporting materials are received.

Current members of the COCIT Executive Committee are ineligible to receive the award.