About Us | Research | Meetings | JCCHD | Links | Home

Cardiology header


The Section presents three annual awards: the Founders Award, the Research Fellowship Award, and the Young Investigator Award.

The Founders Award (named after the "founders" of the Section) recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of pediatric cardiology and cardiovascular surgery.

cc The Research Fellowship Award is awarded to a trainee in an accredited US pediatric cardiology fellowship training program to promote the understanding of a basic mechanism of cardiovascular disease in the young. The Research Fellowship Award provides a $35,000 stipend to reward the recipient for his or her efforts in basic science or clinical research.

Supported by an educational grant from The Children's Heart Foundation.
  • 2014-2015 • Andrew L. Cheng, MD, Children's Hospital Los Angeles, "Effects of Hemorheology on Flow in the Fontan Circulation "
  • 2013-2014 • Shahryar Chowdhury, MD, Medical University of South Carolina, "Investigating the Racial Disparities in Cardiovascular Risk"
  • 2012-2013 • Stephanie J. Nakano, MD, University of Colorado,"Regulation of Phosphodiesterase Activity in Pediatric Heart Failure"
  • 2011-2012 • Katja M. Gist, DO, University of Colorado, "Use of Near Infrared Spectroscopy for the Early Detection of Acute Kidney Disease in Children Post Cardiopulmonary Bypass"
  • 2010-2011 • Thomas C. Dispenza, MD, Indiana University, "Cardiac Cell Stimulation to Shrink Ventricular Septal Defects"
  • 2009-2010 • Robert Gregory Webster, MD, Childrens Hospital Boston, "Psychiatric Outcomes in Patients with Rhythm Devices"
  • 2008-2009 • Michael Gaies, MD, MPH, University of Michigan,
    "Effects of Insulin Therapy After Bypass on Infant Myocardium"
  • 2007-2008 • Michael-Alice Moga, MD, Cincinnati Children's Hospital, "Ventricular Myosin Isoforms in the Pressure Overloaded Heart."
  • 2006-2007Cammon B. Arrington, MD, University of Utah, "Molecular Role of Syndecan-2 in Cardiac Left-Right Development"
  • 2005-2006 Aaron Olson, MD, University of Iowa, "Hypertrophic Signaling Pathways in the Fetal Heart".
  • 2004-2005 Angela Lorts, MD, University of Michigan, "The Role of P13K in Sepsis-Mediated Cardiac Dysfunction"
  • 2003-2004 Catherine Kenworthy Allan, MD, Children's Hospital Boston, "Inflammatory Gene Polymorphisms in Infant Cardiac Surgery"
  • 2002-2003 Nancy J. Halnon, MD, University of California Los Angeles Medical Center, Mattel Childrens Hospital, "Thymic Function in Children Following Cardiovascular Surgery"
  • 1999-2000 Benjamin L. Siu, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital, "Identification of Gene Defects that Cause Sudden Infant Death Syndrome"
  • 1998-1999 Andrew Robinson, MD, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, "Developmental Effects of Altered Flow States on the Pulmonary Vasculature"
  • 1997-1998 Vickie Diamandakis Pyevich, MD, University of Iowa, Department of Pediatrics, "Functional Effects of Altered Expression of Phospholemman in Neonatal Rats"
  • 1996-1997 Jamie Lohr, MD, University of Minnesota, Division of Pediatric Cardiology, "Cardiac Looping: Genetic Regulation and Cellular Mechanisms"
  • 1995-1996 Denise Shaker, MD, Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital, "Genetic Mapping of Congenital Heart Disease in Down Syndrome"
  • 1994-1995 Kevin Shannon, MD, UCLA School of Medicine, "Effects of Thyroid Hormone on G-Protein Signal Transduction"
  • 1993-1994 Elizabeth Goldmuntz, MD, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, "Microdeletions of Chromosomal Region 22q11 in Patients with Congenital Heart Disease"
  • 1992-1993 Mark Fogel, MD, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia,"Right Ventricular Biomechanics"
  • 1991-1992 Fuhua Chen, MD, UCLA School of Medicine,
    "Developmental Changes in Single Cardiac Myocyte K Currents"
2016 Robert Beekman, MD
2015 Michael D. Freed, MD
2014 Macdonald Dick, MD
2013 William W. Pinsky, MD
2012 William Galbraith Williams, MD
2011 James H. Moller, MD
2010 Roberta Gay Williams, MD
2009 Paul Gillette, MD
2008 Thomas P. Graham, Jr, MD
2007 Welton M. Gersony, MD
2006 Roger Hurwitz, MD
2005 Aldo Castenado, MD
2004 Charles E. Mullins, MD
2003 Amnon Rosenthal, MD
2002 William F. Friedman, MD
2001 Abraham Rudolph, MD
2000 Forrest Adams, MD
1999 Samuel Kaplan, MD
1998 Jerome Liebman, MD
1997 Ronald M. Lauer, MD
1996 George C. Emmanouilides, MD
1995 Ruth Whittemore, MD
1994 Jacqueline Noonan, MD
1993 Russell V. Lucas, Jr., MD
1992 Norman S. Talner, MD
1991 James W. DuShane, MD
1990 Dan G. McNamara, MD
1989 Donald G. Ritter, MD
1988 Alexander S. Nadas, MD

The Young Investigator Awards are awarded to the best scientific abstracts presented at the National Conference & Exhibition meeting in clinical research and basic science categories. $800 awards are given for best content and presentation within 3 categories: Medical students/residents; Training fellows; Junior faculty within 5 years of their faculty appointment.

Site Map | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | About Us | Home
American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Blvd., Elk Grove Village, IL, 60007, 847-434-4000