Skip to main content



ONTPD .:. Home ONTPD .:. Fellowship Applicants ONTPD .:. NPM Fellows ONTPD .:. Program Directors


What is ONTPD?

Families Info

The ONTPD was formed in 1991 to provide an annual forum for program directors to identify and address issues relevant to Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine (NPM) Fellowship Training. Its membership consists of the program directors from all accredited NPM training programs in the US and Puerto Rico, which in 2010 numbered 97. The leadership structure of the ONTPD is a Council consisting of 6 program directors elected by the membership; one council member serves as the Chair. A 7th member is a representative from the TECaN (Trainees and Early Career Neonatologists) Council.

In the intervening years since its creation, the ONTPD has evolved into an important instrument for information dissemination and advocacy for NPM fellowship training programs. The ONTPD represents the interests of NPM training program directors with the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP). The Chair of the ONTPD serves as a liaison member of the Executive Committee of the AAP Section on Perinatal Pediatrics (SoPPe), which has supported the ONTPD administratively and financially since its inception. With the 2006 decision by the ONTPD membership to participate in a National Residency Matching Program (NRMP) sanctioned Match and to use the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) as the common platform for fellowship recruitment and applications, the ONTPD now serves as the instrument for communication between its membership, ERAS and NRMP.

Our Mission: The mission of the Organization of Neonatal Program Directors is to inform and advocate for Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Program Directors about issues relevant to the educational objectives, administration and funding of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine subspecialty training. A key mechanism for meeting the ONTPD mission is the organization of an annual forum for program directors for the purpose of identifying and discussing issues relevant to the training of future neonatologists. The charge of the ONTPD is to facilitate the continued accreditation of high quality training programs that meet the long-term objectives of the field of neonatology and to serve as a liaison between program directors and other organizations that have a stake in the training of pediatric subspecialty residents, such as the American Academy of Pediatrics, the AAP Section on Perinatal Pediatrics, the ACGME, NICHD and the American Board of Pediatrics. The ONTPD will provide a structure for the generation of ideas and a mechanism for the development of programs to support and improve Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine education, administration and funding.

Council Roster


Council Members:

Past Chairs:

  • Susan Aucott, MD, FAAP
  • Thomas Parker. MD, FAAP
  • Rita Ryan, MD, FAAP
  • Josef Neu, MD, FAAP
  • Judy Aschner, MD, FAAP
  • William Truogg, MD, FAAP
  • Tom Hansen, MD, FAAP
  • Av Fanaroff, MD, FAAP

Past Council Members:

  • David Adamkin, MD, FAAP
  • Eduardo Bancalari, MD, FAAP
  • Roberta Ballard, MD, FAAP
  • Luc Brion, MD, FAAP
  • Wally Carlo, MD, FAAP
  • James J Cummings, MD, FAAP
  • Christine Gleason, MD, FAAP
  • Susan Guttentag, MD, FAAP
  • William Hay, MD, FAAP
  • Sandra "Sunny" Juul, MD, FAAP
  • Krithika Lingappan, MD, FAAP
  • Thomas Parker, MD, FAAP
  • Josh Petrikin, MD
  • Renate Savich, MD, FAAP
  • Fiona Wertheimer, MD, FAAP
  • Jack Widness, MD, FAAP

AAP Staff Liaison:

  • Jim Couto, MA
Privacy Statement | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Support Center | Home
American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Blvd., Elk Grove Village, IL, 60007, 847-434-4000