Each year during its annual educational program, the AAP Council on School Health presents the Milton J.E. Senn and Martin C. Ushkow Awards to two deserving individuals and/or an organization for their dedication to school health.

Milton J.E. Senn Award

This award and lectureship was named in 1990 to honor distinguished child psychiatrist Milton J.E. Senn, MD, FAAP.  Dr Senn was a pioneer in instituting school health programs. This award is presented to a physician who has distinguished him/herself in the field of school health on a national or international basis and/or has contributed significantly to the AAP Council on School Health (COSH) to improve the welfare, safety, and/or physical or mental health of school children.  The recipient will be invited to present a brief lecture on some aspect of health in the realm of education at the AAP National Conference when the award is presented.

Past recipients include:

2014 Barbara Frankowski, MD, MPH, FAAP
2013 Robert Horner, PhD and George Sugai, PhD
2012 Harold Magalnick, MD, FAAP
2011 Robert Murray, MD, FAAP
2010 Susan Wooley, PhD, CHES, FASHA
2009 Pat Cooper, EdD
2008 David W Kaplan, MD, MPH, FAAP
2007 Jane McGrath, MD, FAAP
2006 Howell Wechsler, EdD, MPH
2005 David Satcher, MD, PhD

Complete List of Past Award Recipients

Martin C. Ushkow Award

The Martin C. Ushkow Award was established in 1996 in honor of its namesake, Martin Ushkow, MD, FAAP. For more than 20 years, Dr Ushkow served as a school physician and Director of Child Health for the Syracuse City School District. He chaired both the AAP Committee on School Health and the New York State Medical Society’s Committee on School Health.

This annual award recognizes a school health professional or organization that has contributed to the  welfare of children in school and/or the community by promoting school health programs, school safety, prevention, and/or rapid crisis intervention OR the education of professionals in school health. This includes school nurses, other school health professionals, school administrators, or organizations.

Past recipients include:

2014 The Children’s Aid Society
2013 Children’s Health Fund
2012 Patrician Caulkins, RN, BSN
2011 National Association of School Nurses
2010 Action for Healthy Kids
2009 National Assembly on School Based Health Care
2008 American School Health Association
2007 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Division of Adolescent and School Health
2006 David A Cimino, MD, FAAP
2005 Center for Health and Healthcare in Schools

Complete List of Past Award Recipients


Site Map | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | About Us | Home
American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Blvd., Elk Grove Village, IL, 60007, 847-434-4000